Posted in Bible Art Journaling, coloring, Prayer, scripture

Pray in Color

Click on this free printable I created to print it out and color along as I show you a technique for prayer using the word PRAY in the video below.

Coloring the letters of the word PRAY, is a great reminder to praise and repent before asking and then yielding to HIS will. Feel free to draw your own rectangle to be placed next to the word pray by simply using a ruler to draw various angled lines to create however many sized shapes you desire. It can then be traced onto a Bible page or plain sheet of paper. I am using a piece of velum for this example.

The scripture I have chosen for this time of prayer is Luke 6:12—

“And it came to pass in those days, that he went out into a mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God.”

Part of my process is always to begin by reading the verse, reading the chapter for context, underlining my chosen verse, and writing it out to see what stands out to me. I also like to compare the verse reading it in several different translations.

The fact that Jesus prayed all night to God really struck a chord and is why I chose this verse for this prayer technique. Jesus prayed all night! Not just for a couple minutes or even a couple hours…but ALL NIGHT very purposefully.

To help keep me on track for this time of prayer, I am writing the names of friends and family members in each space. I have also reserved a space for the upcoming virtual Bible Journaling retreat I’m participating in, and both the presidential candidates as well as this divided nation.

I encourage you to write the names of those friends and family members of your own that you wish to include in this time of personal prayer.

Praise – I will praise my God for His love and abundant blessings.

Repent – I acknowledge my guilty sins and seek forgiveness.

Ask – I will ask God to open my heart and mind and to yield to His will.

Continue to praise and repent as you finish coloring the word PRAY then take the time that you color each shape to ask for blessings and His will to be done for each person or item you have written. As you color, focus exclusively on that person, item, event, etc. that is written in that shape. I have found that as I go through this process, I may find myself praying for other needs for that person that I hadn’t initially thought about. And remember, even Jesus set aside time to pray.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be provided you for.” Matthew 6:33

To make this page a tip-in in my Bible, I placed a piece of clear tape on one edge and adhered it into the binding.

Finally, don’t forget to date the page and use a page marker. There are so many other verses in the Bible about prayer. I encourage you to search those out. Print out several copies of the above pray template and pray in color often. By dating each page you can look back and see who you prayed for and when prayers got answered.

One thought on “Pray in Color

Leave a comment