Posted in Bible Art Journaling, Digital Bible Art Journaling, Faith, scripture

Bible Art Journaling – Digital Style

The image below is my first digital Bible art journaling creation. I have been Bible art journaling in various physical Bibles for five and a half years. I have seen some other people’s digital journaling designs, so it is not a new concept, but it is new to me.

“Bold power and glorious majesty are wrapped around her as she laughs with joy over the latter days.” Proverbs 31:25 TPT

This verse from Proverbs always reminds me of my mom. When I moved her to be closer to me in 2010, I worried about taking her out of her home town where she had lived her whole life. She was always the social butterfly, meeting friends for coffee or Bible study, and thoroughly enjoying conversation and fellowship wherever she went. After various health issues, she became less mobile and needed more care. Living two hours away, I couldn’t always get to her when she needed something, so I found a townhome just a few blocks from me and settled her there.

Mom was an avid letter writer and greeting card sender, but I wanted her to have more immediate access to some of the friends she had left behind. Against some initial protests, I brought her into the digital age with an iPad and a Facebook account.

I never thought of mom as being tech savvy, but to say she took to the iPad like a fish in water would be an understatement. There were still questions and several late night calls of, “I clicked on something and can’t see my post;” but for the most part, she loved it! She even named her iPad ‘Isabella’, and would occasionally remind me to ‘plug Isabella in.’

Not only did mom connect with old friends, but she made several new ones. She would genuinely be concerned with each person’s posts and comment accordingly. She became a digital encourager and cheerleader for her friends even though she couldn’t be with them in person. She never missed posting a daily Bible verse on her Facebook page.

At her funeral in 2014, strangers came up to me and introduced themselves. “I never met your mom in person, but we became friends on Facebook. She helped me through a difficult time in my life.”

This first attempt at digital Bible art journaling is a tribute to my mom. She made it into the computerized world after years of paper and pen, so I decided it was time for me to step out of my comfort zone and learn something new as well.

Using my iPad mini 6, I created the image using the GoodNotes app and Procreate®. I first downloaded the American Standard Version (ASV) translation of the Bible into GoodNotes. Positioned on the Proverbs page above within the GoodNotes app, I highlighted the verse and took a screenshot to import into Procreate®. In the Procreate® application, I then added color, journal notes, and the dress image.

We’re never too old to learn something new and can even laugh with joy over these latter days.

One thought on “Bible Art Journaling – Digital Style

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your Mom. I still miss her words of encouragement and praise on Facebook. She had such a warm spirit and a gift for letting people know they were special. What a dear! And I can just see her swirling around in the dress you chose for your scripture coloring – in her younger years, of course. .

    Like

Leave a comment