Posted in Bible Art Journaling, coloring, Faith, Prayer, scripture

Only One Color

“The grass withers, the flowers fade, but the word of our God remains forever.” Isaiah 40:8

I recently watched a mixed media process video where the artist, Michele Bowden, recommended “abandoning outcomes.” She said, “When you are creating, it doesn’t always turn out the way you envisioned it.”

process + prayer + play > outcomes

Michele Bowden

Such an inspiring thought! And one I want to remember going forward. So many times, I have an idea in my head of what a finished page will look like. Sometimes it comes to fruition. Sometimes it surpasses what I imagined. But most of the time, it’s not quite the desired result. Such was the case in the above image in my Illustrating Bible by Dayspring when I colored the page for Isaiah 40:8.

In February of 2020, I participated in a Bible art journaling challenge. One of the Facebook groups I follow (Bible Journaling Tips & Tricks), posted a series of challenges. Members could participate at their own pace and share their creations within the group page. I like to engage in other groups’ Bible art journaling experiences to step out of my comfort zone and think outside my own practices.

Challenge #4, as it is labeled on my page above, could be on any verse in the Bible as long as the page was decorated in a monochromatic theme. I was fairly certain I knew what that term meant, but I looked up the definition to be sure.

monochromatic - containing or using only one color.

I used distress ink, stencils, washi tape, and markers of varying shades of green to create my monochromatic page. Green…the color of grass which withers. Green…the color of flower stems and leaves which fades.

Green is associated with nature and represents new life. I love spring time when the winter browns turn green and trees bud with fresh growth. It’s my favorite time of year when we seem to move out of that black and white movie into colorization, like when Dorothy gets to Oz.

I liked how the background of the page turned out, but I wasn’t enamored with the flowers that I drew freehand over the top. Occasionally, I wonder if God feels the same way about his creation. The background of our existence is created in His image. But as we go through life, our free will and sinful human nature obscure God’s intended vision for us. Fortunately, for us, ‘God REMAINS forever’ our only ONE. HE can take us out of any season of our life and color us with renewal to get us back on our intended path. We need only to be still, remain faithful, and stay in the Word.

One thought on “Only One Color

Leave a comment