Posted in Bible Art Journaling, Faith, Prayer, scripture

An A-Bridged Version

I had to walk across a bridge everyday going to elementary school. (No, it wasn’t up hill both ways). But, I think, in an attempt to keep me from lingering too long on the bridge, my mom told me trolls lived under the bridge. I’m not sure I believed her, but it worked. I hurried across both in the morning and the afternoon and didn’t dilly dally over that bridge.

Bridges take us across water, over trains and traffic, and sometimes into territories unknown. We can walk, bike, run, drive, skate, or slide from one side to the other of a physical bridge. But what about the metaphorical bridge? How do we get from one side of our fears to the courage of exploration and risk? How do we take the leap and find out if the bridge of time and energy will span far enough to get us to where we want to be–where we think we want to be? What if after we cross that bridge, one side is both alike?

A bridge is trust. You are trusting that when you start the journey over the bridge, it will stay intact and you will reach the other side. I have to admit, after the 35W bridge collapse in downtown Minneapolis on August 2, 2007, I am a little more worried than I used to be when crossing a long bridge over a body of water. But that just means my prayers are a little bit more fervent upon approach. Because my trust comes from my faith in God.

And while my faith in God hasn’t always been first and foremost, God has never left me, and is always there when I put my trust in Him.

I bridged the gap between not trusting God in all things to always trusting Him by immersing myself in the Word. My journey of learning about Bible Art Journaling to teaching and leading others in the practice has deepened my relationship with my Lord and Savior and kept my trust first and foremost.

“Those who know Your name will put their trust in You.
For You, O Lord, have never left alone those who look for You.” Psalm 9:10 NLV

Over the years, I have used various bridges as focal points in my photographs, as I find the linear perspective to be very pleasing to the eye. I have used many of these images combined with Bible verses for my Facebook page Scripture Picture Moments by Deb.

Swensrud Park, Northwood, Iowa
Swensrud Park, Northwood, Iowa
Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth, Minnesota
Meredith Willson “The Music Man” Footbridge, Mason City, Iowa
Meredith Willson “The Music Man” Footbridge, Mason City, Iowa
Linn Creek Greenbelt Covered Bridge (bike path), Marshalltown, Iowa
East Park, Mason City, Iowa

The bridge is only scary if your eyes are not fixed on Jesus.

One thought on “An A-Bridged Version

Leave a comment